Date Night: Brunch

Nobody likes waking up at the crack of dawn on the weekends, I am an early riser anyway, I can’t seem to sleep past 8:30 A.M. no matter what I do. That usually gives me a little head start on making breakfast, but some days you feel lazy and don’t wanna do anything for a couple hours, that’s why we have brunch. Don’t quote me on this I know brunch has become a big event for a lot of people, but I’m pretty sure it started as lazy breakfast. I love to make waffles for brunch it’s easy all you have to do is get the batter ready and then the waffle iron does the work and you can focus on other things, like bacon, because everyone will say your brunch is great if you have good bacon, pro tip right there. The waffle maker I use doesn’t let you know when it’s done cooking so I just have to make sure I don’t focus too much on the bacon and have a burnt waffle.

If you are topping your waffle with some fresh fruit or a dollop of whipped cream or anything sweet, then you might want to back down the sugar in the recipe a little bit so you don’t overpower with sweetness. The rule I like to use is 1-1 1/2 teaspoons for each cup of flour in the batter. Waffles are good to do because they are pretty easy to customize and they look impressive, you can add whatever you want to the batter before you cook it too, I have tried chocolate chip waffles and blueberry waffles. Leftover waffles are also perfect to freeze and warm up in the toaster during the week, it will be the best frozen waffle you have ever had and if you give some to whoever you are hosting for brunch they can go home and remember you made them every time they warm one up or open the freezer and see it there.

Leave a Reply

